The Member for Goulburn Pru Goward has welcomed the announcement of an additional $762,989 in needs-based funding for Goulburn government schools in 2015.

“This additional support is a result of the NSW Liberals & Nationals Government being the first to sign up to the Gonski agreement, which will deliver $5 billion in additional funding to NSW students over six years,” Ms Goward said.

“It’s what NSW public schools have wanted – a significant increase in funding guaranteed into the future, with the greatest benefits flowing to schools and students with the greatest need.

“Schools in Goulburn began benefitting from additional resources distributed under the new Resource Allocation Model (RAM) last year.

“Today’s announcement builds on those increases, and I am confident school communities and principals will be delighted at the prospect of planning their use of the additional funds.

“The core of the Government’s Local Schools, Local Decisions reforms is to put decision-making about students and school communities with the people who know them best – the principals, school staff and parents.

“The distribution of funds on a needs basis under the RAM gives them exactly that opportunity.

“Many schools in the Goulburn electorate will see additional benefits in areas such as literacy and numeracy support, teachers’ professional development and community engagement.”

In 2015, the RAM features more than $664 million in needs based funding delivered through five loadings to improve education outcomes:
• $253 million for students from low socio-economic backgrounds;
• $240 million for students with low-level disability;
• $104 million for students still developing English language proficiency;
• $50 million to support students from Aboriginal backgrounds; and
• $17 million for remote and isolated school communities.

Examples of schools in the Goulburn electorate receiving increases in funding include:

Total 2015 Preliminary Funding ($)
Mulwaree High School 392,053
Goulburn Public School 307,767
Goulburn North Public School 189,054
Goulburn East Public School 80,243
Goulburn South Public School 191,949
Goulburn West Public School 176,139
Taralga Public School 31,470
The Crescent School 34,528
Tallong Public School 26,293
Windellama Public School 43,131
Bradfordville Public School 228,871
Wollondilly Public School 200,993
Tarago Public School 56,038
Marulan Public School 81,197
Breadalbane Public School 20,665
Goulburn High School 531,715
Moss Vale High School 321,293
Moss Vale Public School 255,794
Bundanoon Public School 94,432
Robertson Public School 105,971
Exeter Public School 31,721
Avoca Public School 29,474
Penrose Public School 20,250
Berrima Public School 39,640
Burrawang Public School 16,585
Kangaloon Public School 15,870
Sutton Forest Public School 30,413
Crookwell Public School 177,977
Crookwell High School 165,962
Taralga Public School 31,470
Binda Public School 28,438
Bigga Public School 29,072
Laggan Public School 16,321
Yass High School 255,056
Boorowa Central School 254,876
Yass Public School 137,390
Gunning Public School 47,104
Berinba Public School 176,556
Gundaroo Public School 37,170
Sutton Public School 68,847
Bowning Public School 55,117
Rugby Public School 38,288
Dalton Public School 15,270
Breadalbane Public School 20,665


Pru retired
from politics in 2019.
Please see Pru's
Facebook page

Subscribe to Pru's

Stay up-to-date with events in Goulburn

Grants Information

For information on grants available to local residents, please click here.

Authorised by Pru Goward, Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney NSW 2000