Media Releases


Upper Lachlan Shire villages will receive new pedestrian infrastructure thanks to the NSW Government’s Stronger Country Communities fund.

The $345,000 grant will support construction of footpaths, installation of signage and line marking for Gunning, Laggan and Taralga’s residents and visitors.

Concrete shared paths will be constructed along Grosvenor and Hume Streets in Gunning and footpaths will be constructed in Peelwood Road in Laggan and Church Street, Taralga thanks to the NSW Government funding.
Member for Goulburn, Pru Goward said the NSW Government’s significant investment in the villages would provide residents with improved pedestrian and cycling access for health and recreation.

“The funding from Stronger Country Communities is about improving the lives of our residents and attractiveness of our region through investment in local infrastructure – which this project will do exactly,” Ms Goward said.

Upper Lachlan Shire Council Mayor Brian McCormack OAM said the projects were identified as priorities in Council’s Pedestrian Access Mobility Plan (PAMP) and Bike Plan for the Shire.

“On behalf of Council and the community I would like to thank the State Government for this significant investment in our Shire, which will benefit residents and visitors alike, now and for decades to come,” Cr McCormack said.

There are a total of five projects to be funded under Stronger Country Communities fund within the Upper Lachlan Shire including the AP&H Society’s Crookwell Showground upgrade.

The Stronger Country Communities fund is one of the six funds that make up the NSW Government’s $1.3 billion Regional Growth Fund, which is designed to improve economic growth and productivity through investment in regional communities.

Applications for Round Two of funding are now open and further details can be found at


Goulburn Electorate Office
(02) 4822 6444

Ministerial Office
(02) 8574 5907

Subscribe to Pru's

Stay up-to-date with events in Goulburn

Grants Information

For information on grants available to local residents, please click here.

Authorised by Pru Goward, Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney NSW 2000