Media Releases


Member for Goulburn, the Hon. Pru Goward is encouraging truck drivers
aged 21 to 35 who are passionate about their profession to go in the running to win a $5,000 trip to the United States.

The Young Driver Award (YDA) is an initiative by the Livestock, Bulk and
Rural Carriers Association (LBRCA) to support young truck drivers who
demonstrate a best practice approach to driving and safety.

Ms Goward said it was a great chance for young drivers in the Goulburn electorate to be a role model for the rural transport industry and will help promote rural transport as a viable, long-term career choice for young people.

"Rural transport is an essential service that keeps the country moving," Ms Goward said.

"Without rural transporters, Australian produce wouldn’t get from the farm gate to the table.

“It’s not only a great prize for the winner with a $5,000 trip to the United States, but it also encourages younger drivers to the industry and highlights the career opportunities within the freight sector.”

The award will be presented at the LBRCA and ALRTA joint national conference in Coffs Harbour from March 23 – 24.

LBRCA president Lynley Miners said the LBRCA Young Driver Award, now in
its fourth year, recognises top young drivers and showcases their commitment to safety and best practice.

“Driving a truck for a living is a lot more challenging than people realise – the hours are long, the work can be dangerous, and compliance can be complicated,”

Applicants must be either a current member of the LBRCA or working for a
current member of the LBRCA. 

A membership form can be submitted with the 2018 YDA Application Form
obtained by emailing the LBRCA Secretariat

Applications will be shortlisted and up to five finalists identified and Nominations are open until February 16, 2018.

For more information, contact LBRCA on 02 6295 6651 or



Goulburn Electorate Office
(02) 4822 6444

Ministerial Office
(02) 8574 5907

Subscribe to Pru's

Stay up-to-date with events in Goulburn

Grants Information

For information on grants available to local residents, please click here.

Authorised by Pru Goward, Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney NSW 2000