South Australia

Media Releases


Member for Goulburn Pru Goward and Minister for Veterans Affairs, David Elliott, called upon local high schools to enter the ballot for the 2018 Premier’s Anzac Memorial Scholarship that will see students travel to France and Belgium to retrace the footsteps of the Anzacs.

Students from Years 10 and 11 at local Government, Catholic and Independent Schools could have the chance to take part in a 13-day tour of the significant Australian battlefields of Ypres, Passchendaele, the Somme and Flanders in Belgium for the centenary of the Battle of Hamel.

Ms Goward welcomed the opening of the 2018 Premier’s Anzac Scholarship ballot and the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity this program offers to local students.

“It is an incredible chance for students to visit key Australian memorial sites, and to witness firsthand the fields upon which our young men and women fought and forged the Anzac spirit,” Ms Goward said.

“The tour will bring to life the stories of the First World War and the Western Front that we read about in history books and hear of at Anzac Day ceremonies.”

Mr Elliott said the 2018 pilgrimage to the Western Front will encourage this new generation to better understand the service and sacrifice of our Anzacs on battlefields half a world away from home.

“During the Centenary of Anzac, it is important that the service of Australian men and women, and their contribution to our nationhood and identity, are honoured and remembered,” Mr Elliott said.

School principals should lodge an expression of interest by 5pm on 17 August 2017 at The successful schools will be announced after 20 August 2017.

Students from the 20 successful schools will then prepare a piece of work based on the Centenary of Anzac. Each school will select one winner to participate in the tour.

MEDIA: Electorate office (02) 4822 6444

Pru Goward

Member for Goulburn

Subscribe to Pru's

Stay up-to-date with events in Goulburn

Grants Information

For information on grants available to local residents, please click here.

Authorised by Pru Goward, Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney NSW 2000